A Rugby Life

A Rugby Volunteer's Blog

Movember Misery


It’s Movember time again when men spend the month propagating growth on their upper lip and their wives, girlfriends, partners and mistresses spend that time telling them to shave it off because:

  • They look ridiculous
  • It tickles
  • The men spend more time looking in the mirror than they do

tache2010I did my bit for Movember last year and I managed to grow a pretty decent ‘tache which unlike my hair had little grey in it.  But I really didn’t enjoy that month and I don’t really want to do it again because:

  • It itches almost from Day One
  • Shaving each morning is made unnecessarily difficult through having to avoid the growth I want to keep
  • When I drink anything, a residue is left on my top lip – soup is particularly disgusting
  • I look uncannily like Roy Hudd when I have a moustache

So when I was asked to join Harwich Rugby’s Movember team for 2011 I pondered long and hard about agreeing.  I thought about the nature of charity events and that it shouldn’t be easy otherwise why should people give you money?

I’m not going to run a marathon or climb Ben Nevis, drinking a quart of raw eggs or sitting in a bath of baked beans doesn’t appeal to me, and if I shaved off my hair I don’t think anyone would notice!

PrintSo I’m going to grow a moustache over the month of November in aid of Prostate Cancer Research and I will not enjoy a minute of it.  If anyone asks me about it I will pull a resigned face, moan about how much I dislike the hairy caterpillar below my nose and demand some money is donated.

If you have read as far as this paragraph then please be so kind as to make a donation, no matter how small.  It is bad enough having to put up with everything associated with moustache growing but if I raise a decent amount of money I can kid myself that it is in some way worth it.

Go to http://mobro.co/andrewsarek and click on the Donate To Me link and give what you can and if possible tick the Gift Aid box too.

Thank you.

One response to “Movember Misery

  1. Steve Russell 3 November 2011 at 8:27 pm

    The trouble with MOVEMBER it makes no provision for us poor souls who’ve had a moustache for centuries !!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

